Director George Lucas and Lucasfilm president/producer Kathleen Kennedy might be honored with the 2022 Milestone Award, the Producers Guild of America introduced as we speak. The award is being given “for his or her unparalleled contributions to the movie trade each individually and collaboratively by way of Lucasfilm.”

The ceremony, initially scheduled for February 26, will now happen on Saturday, March 19, nonetheless on the Fairmont Century Plaza lodge. Due to the postponement, nominations for the Youngsters’s, Sports activities, and Brief-Type classes have been shifted to a January 18 announcement date. These had been scheduled to reach yesterday. The winners in these aforementioned classes might be introduced on the PGA Awards’ Nominee celebrations in Los Angeles and New York the week of March 15. the Theatrical and Animated movement image nominees stay set to be introduced January 27 together with the Tv and Streaming nominees.

The Milestone Award is the PGA’s most prestigious honor, recognizing historic contributions to the leisure trade. The Guild’s 2020 honoree was Ted Sarandos. Early recipients of this award included Louis B. Mayer, Walt Disney and Alfred Hitchcock. Later recipients included Steven Spielberg, Bob Iger, Sherry Lansing, Clint Eastwood, Brian Grazer and Ron Howard, James Cameron and Donna Langley.

Producers Guild Awards Postponed Till Mid-March Amid Omicron Surge 

Producers Guild Awards 2022 schedule

Producers Guild of America

“Collectively, George and Kathleen have carved out a unbelievable empire of leisure that evokes and entertains billions, all with the very best ranges of each inventive and technical achievement. What George has constructed by way of his motion pictures and thru Lucasfilm has enriched each aspect of filmmaking, and his colossal creativity and technical genius amazed the world. Kathleen has ascended to the very best ranges of our trade, going through ever-changing challenges every time she succeeded in producing one of many good and boundary breaking movies she is thought for. And since becoming a member of Lucasfilm as president, she has expertly exalted its IP to be much more influential and treasured world wide,” mentioned Producers Guild of America Presidents Gail Berman and Lucy Fisher. “We’re very proud to honor George and Kathleen as they have a good time the fiftieth anniversary of LucasFilm.”

Lucas mentioned, “Receiving the Milestone Award from the PGA is a celebration of all that goes into bringing tales to life throughout a lifetime…defending creativity whereas balancing enterprise, shifting expertise ahead to make actual what you’ll be able to see in your thoughts’s eye and doing all of it from scratch more often than not. Being acknowledged alongside my longtime good friend and fellow producer Kathleen Kennedy makes this honoring of our shared and particular person works much more significant.”

Kennedy mentioned, “I’m very honored to share this award with George Lucas who has impressed a technology of filmmakers who had been coming of age, not solely by way of his storytelling however by way of technological innovation that unlocked our creativeness.”

The 2022 Producers Guild Awards Occasion Chairs are Chris Thomes, Vice President, Artistic Companies for Disney Tv Studios and Melvin Mar, Govt Producer, The Detective Company. The 2022 Producers Guild of America Awards are produced by Anchor Road Collective for the Producers Guild of America. Branden Chapman is Govt Producer, Carleen Cappelletti is Co-Govt Producer, Matt Ullian and Jane Sarkin of Boldface Companions are expertise executives and Jim Piccirillo is Director.

Supply hyperlink

By Admin